The jury is in and Landmark Heritage Foundation is delighted to announce the winners of our Fall 2012 “Julia Morgan Photo Contest.”

Congratulations to the Winners !

FIRST PRIZE — “A Pool Fit for Royalty”, by Carol Sangren

1.poolcolumnsJulia Morgan’s “Little Castle” boasts an elegant indoor pool with all the fine touches including her signature pillars, ornaments and tilework.

SECOND PRIZE — “Portal to the Past”, by Bev Sakane-Freeland

2.window2” I was drawn to the architectural details of the window and the textural contrasts between the hard concrete, the soft green foliage, and the leaded glass. All the elements made for an interesting composition.” – Bev Sakane-Freeland

THIRD PRIZE — “Berkeley City Club Dining Room Section”, by Scott Page

3.BCCSectContestThis image was captured with a FARO FOCUS 3D laser scanner. The image is a 2D screen-shot extracted from the 3D “point cloud” made from the laser scanner, and colorized with its built-in digital camera. An infinite number of 2D images are available once the 3D data is unified through a process called ‘registration’. Like a conventional camera, the image is captured from reflected light, and only captures what it ‘sees’. Once the point cloud is unified from separate scan positions, however, it is possible to view the selected images as though they were transparent.


The Julia Morgan Photo Contest was part of this past fall’s statewide “Julia Morgan 2012” festival celebrating the life and work of California’s great and first licensed woman architect.The festival was the first undertaking of “Landmarks California,” a continuing project of the California Cultural and Historical Endowment (CCHE) to celebrate the state’s heritage.

We are all very grateful to Anne-Catrin Schultz, past president of Landmark Heritage Foundation with a deep interest in photography, who was “innovator” of our Julia Morgan Photo Contest and the brains behind it.

And, we are pleased that many talented photographers were intrigued by the Contest. We offer our hearty congratulations to the winners.